The Substance of Peter Hook

by Oliver Brink on March 21, 2018

Peter Hook and the Light hit the North American stages once again!

No language, just sound, that's all we need know.

Photo by Jonathan Pirro at The Mezzanine (SF) in 2011.

Peter Hook’s saga of rock and roll history is not one to be trifled with. His indelible mark as a bass player and musical progenitor has been left in the forms of both Joy Division and New Order, two bands who influenced incredible waves over their tenures. What probably sets him apart from most musicians involved in such influential and groundbreaking groups is his unabashed and pure honesty in recollection. Anyone could just accept the moniker of “groundbreaking creator,” but how many will tell you that their entire style evolved over the fact that their equipment was shit and they just couldn’t hear themself during band practice?

Let me get one thing straight. I fucking love Joy Division. However, the first time I ever heard them my initial thought was “What the fuck is this shit?” To put it plainly, I was, and still am to some degree, one of those people who fiercely sought to be independent. I tried to play the game through puberty and junior high school and instead realized that game sucked and I wanted no part of it. From then on, I would decide what I liked, who I liked, when I liked things. This worked for the most part, but ultimately came with some hang ups, like a weird complex where I immediately dislike something the more a lot of people around me tell me I should like it. New Order and Joy Division (really everything that was called ’80s music) were in that realm for a while until I saw New Order perform in 2005 at Coachella in my early 20s. In my opinion, the music from Waiting For The Siren’s Call, the album they were touring at the time, was dull (and I still dislike that album) but I found myself of a changed opinion the minute they pulled out “Transmission” a few songs into their set. I swallowed my hubris and became a seeker of everything Joy Division and New Order from that point onward. And then New Order broke up.

Jump forward and the strange controversies of New Order reforming minus Hook begin. If you need to know specific details you can check Wikipedia or really any music blog/news site, but suffice to say New Order is just not the same without Peter Hook. Regardless of that, as a result, we have Peter Hook and The Light to give us all the lovely bits of nostalgia coupled with a renewed and electrifying energy and presence that quite honestly blows the reformed New Order – Hook equation out of the god damn water. What’s more, Peter Hook and the Light are on tour again playing tracks from the Substance singles collections, but also will be in Los Angeles on the 19th of May performing Joy Division’s Unknown Pleasures and Closer albums in their entirety. If you haven’t been able to tell yet, I’m jumping out of my skin for this. Armed with his bass, pedals, friends and family, Peter Hook is coming through America again (at long last) and he promises to deliver unforgettable evenings.

Below is a list of dates, cities, and venues:

Thu 4/26/18 Union Transfer, Philadelphia, PA

Fri 4/27/18   Brooklyn Steel , Brooklyn, NY       

Sat 4/28/18   Paradise Rock Club, Boston, MA – SOLD OUT  

Mon 4/30/18   Fairmount Theatre, Montreal, QC  – SOLD OUT

Tue 5/1/18   Danforth Music Hall, Toronto, ON – SOLD OUT

Thu 5/3/18   Royal Oak Music Hall, Royal Oak, MI      

Fri 5/4/18     Metro, Chicago, IL- SOLD OUT

Sat 5/5/18     Majestic Theatre, Madison, WI

Mon 5/7/18 First Avenue, Minneapolis, MN      

Tue 5/8/18   Venue, Vancouver, BC        

Thu 5/10/18 Neptune Theater, Seattle, WA        

Fri 5/11/18   Wonder Ballroom, Portland, OR   

Sat 5/12/18   Warfield, San Francisco, CA          

Mon 5/14/18   Brooklyn Bowl,  Las Vegas, NV  

Tue 5/15/18 Metro Music Hall,  Salt Lake City, UT     

Thu 5/17/18 Van Buren, Phoenix, AZ     

Fri 5/18/18   Wiltern Los Angeles, CA(Exclusive Unknown Pleasures/Closer Show)

Sat 5/19/18   House Of Blues, San Diego, CA      

Mon 5/21/18   Ace Of Spades, Sacramento, CA    

Tue 5/22/18 Granada, Dallas, TX           

Wed 5/23/18   Mohawk, Austin, TX           

Fri 5/25/18   Cat’s Cradle, Carrboro, NC           

Sat 5/26/18   The Mill & Mine, Knoxville, TN     

Sun 5/27/18 Variety Playhouse, Atlanta, GA     

Tue 5/29/18 Exit / In, Nashville, TN        

Wed 5/30/18   Paper Tiger, San Antonio, TX        

Thu 5/31/18 Warehouse Live,  Houston, TX

Sat 6/3/18     Respectable Live, West Park Beach, FL

Sun 6/3/18   Plaza Live, Orlando, FL      

Mon 6/4/18 State Theater, St. Petersburg, FL

Oliver Brink

Oliver is a lover of film, music, theatre, and art. He writes and works out of Los Angeles.

More Posts

Read Also:

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: